Dick Enberg Among List Of Broadcasters Eligible For 2015 Ford Frick Award


San Diego Padres’ broadcaster Dick Enberg has been named as one of 42 broadcasters eligible for the 2015 Ford Frick Award, which is presented by the Baseball Hall of Fame to reward broadcasting excellence in baseball. Enberg has been a Padres’ television play-by-play announcer since 2010.

Among those also eligible for the award are Al Michaels, Richie Ashburn, Lou Boudreau, Dizzy Dean, Don Drysdale, Ernie Johnson, Ralph Kiner, Bob Neal and Joe Nuxhall. Everyone on the list called games during the Living Room period from the 1950s to the mid-1980s.

More from Padres News

Enberg began his baseball broadcasting career with the Angels in 1965, where he called games until 1978. He was a member of NBC’s baseball team from 1977 to 1989 as a play-by-play broadcaster and studio host. Enberg also called NFL and NBA games for NBC and CBS from 1990 to 2010.

Enberg’s eligibility for the award is based on his time with California. Fans can vote for Enberg by visiting the Hall of Fame’s Facebook page.