* Alex Cora
admitted after the game yesterday that the Nationals caught a break in the ninth-inning rundown where he was called safe at third after attempting to sidestep Chase Headley
. The Padres angrily protested the call, which would have ended the inning had it been reversed. Instead, Cora scored on Laynce Nix
‘s single. “(The umpire) just missed it,” Cora said. “He tagged me.” But Brian Bixler
had scored the Nationals’ first run before Cora’s rundown at third base, so the Nationals would have taken a 1-0 lead even if third base umpire Laz Diaz had called Cora out. And as they won the game 2-0, the second run wasn’t necessary.