My mock 2020 MLB Hall of Fame ballot: Not this time for San Diego Padres

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Heath Bell #21 of the San Diego Padres. (Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

I break down my mock 2020 MLB Hall of Fame ballot and talk about which San Diego Padres players are on the list this time around.

After a couple of big classes, the 2020 MLB Hall of Fame class is not shaping up to be a huge one. And there certainly doesn’t appear to be a case for any San Diego Padres players.

At FanSided MLB we are doing our mock 2020 MLB Hall of Fame vote among site experts and will release the results on January 20 — the day before the real results are released.

Those returning to the ballot include: Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Larry Walker, Omar Vizquel, Manny Ramirez, Jeff Kent, Scott Rolen, Billy Wagner, Todd Helton, Gary Sheffield, Andy Pettitte, Sammy Sosa, and Andruw Jones.

First-timers on the ballot include: Derek Jeter, Bobby Abreu, Jason Giambi, Cliff Lee, Rafael Furcal, Eric Chavez, Josh Beckett, Brian Roberts, Alfonso Soriano, Carlos Pena, Paul Konerko, Chone Figgins, Raul Ibanez, Brad Penny, Adam Dunn, J.J. Putz, Jose Valverde, and Heath Bell.

Bell is the only one on the ballot who would likely go in as a Padres player spending five of his 11 seasons with the Padres where he racked up 134 of his 168 career saves there.

Trevor Hoffman went into the Hall of Fame with the 2018 class with a Padres hat on his plague, and he may be the last Padres player to enter the halls for a while.

But let’s breakdown those on the ballot for the 2020 class and then I’ll reveal my mock ballot.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Load Comments