Writers Fail To Elect Anyone To The Hall Of Fame


I woke this morning to a surprise: The Baseball Writers Association of America failed to elect a candidate to the Hall of Fame for the first time since 1996. The association spoke loudly about the Steroid Era, failing to even come close to allowing some of the more notorious players of the era into the hall.

Craig Biggio came the closest to election, receiving 68.2% of the vote. It would seem conceivable that Biggio will be elected in 2014. Jack Morris got 67.7 percent of the votes. There were some players with Padres ties who received votes.

Fred McGriff baseball card. From Personal files — Kevin Charity

Former Padres catcher Mike Piazza(man, that sounds weird) got 57.8% of the votes. Former Padres coach and Detroit Tigers shortstop Alan Trammell got 33.6% of the vote. Former Padres first baseman Fred McGriff got 20.7% of the vote.

The rest of the results can be seen here, via Huffington Post.

I am a bit surprised to see that no player was elected. It seemed that the baseball writers punished many of the alleged cheats. It will be interesting to see if any of the guys who got close this year will get another chance in 2014. If you are a fan of the Hall of Fame speeches, you will be disappointed this year.