Chase Headley Places Fifth In National League MVP Voting


Back to back player of the month awards, a Gold Glove and a Silver Slugger award, wasn’t enough to name Chase Headley the National League’s Most Valuable Player. In fact, the National League’s RBI leader with 115, couldn’t even place in the top three.

Sep 5, 2012; Los Angeles, CA, USA; San Diego Padres third baseman Chase Headley (7) follows through on a two-run double in the first inning as Los Angeles Dodgers catcher A.J. Ellis (17) watches at Dodger Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee/Image of Sport-US PRESSWIRE

Headley finished in fifth place, totaling 127 points while being named on 28 of the 32 ballots. The third baseman became the highest-rated Padre on the MVP ballot since Adrian Gonzalez finished fourth in 2010, according to U-T San Diego’s Bill Center.

Padres left fielder Greg Vaughn also finished fourth in 1998.

Former Padres third baseman Ken Caminiti is the only Padre to have ever win the MVP honor in 1996.

Headley played in all but one game last season (161), batting .286 with 31 home runs and 115 RBI.

San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey will now accompany his World Series ring with a National League MVP award. Posey received 27-of-32 first place votes and 422 points from the Baseball Writers’ Association. Posey remarkably recovered from a tragic leg injury in 2011 to win the league’s highest honor.

Here are the top 10 MVP vote getters by the National Baseball Writers’ Association:

  1. Buster Posey, San Fransisco Giants
  2. Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
  3. Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
  4. Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
  5. Chase Headley, San Diego Padres
  6. David Wright, New York Mets
  7. Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals
  8. Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Brave
  9. Aramis Ramirez, Milwaukee Brewers
  10. Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds

Let us know in the comments below how you would have voted for MVP.