Bell and Latos Get Cy Young Votes

Sep 23, 2010; Los Angeles, CA, USA; San Diego Padres starter Mat Latos (38) pitches during the game against the Los Angeles Dodgers at Dodger Stadium. Photo via Newscom


Roy Halladay was unanimously named the NL CY Young award winner. A couple of Padres received votes in the race as well.

Heath Bell received 3rd and 5th place votes. Mat Latos received a 4th, and two 5th place votes. They are the 1st Padres pitchers to get votes since Jake Peavy won the Cy Young Award in 2007. Bell and Latos ended tied for 8th place in Cy Young votes. Both Bell and Latos finished ahead of World Champion Tim Lincecum in this year’s Cy Young balloting.

Here is the breakdown of the voting:

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies 32 224
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals 28 3 1 122
Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado Rockies 4 19 8 1 90
Tim Hudson, Atlanta Braves 3 13 4 39
Josh Johnson, Florida Marlins 5 5 9 34
Roy Oswalt, Houston Astros/Philadelphia Phillies 1 3 5 14
Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants 1 5 7
Heath Bell, San Diego Padres 1 1 4
Mat Latos, San Diego Padres 1 2 4
Brett Myers, Houston Astros 1 2
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants 2 2
Bronson Arroyo, Cincinnati Reds 1 1
Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants 1 1

Tags: Cy Young Heath Bell Mat Latos San Diego Padres

comments powered by Disqus